Cramping My Style

Yikes, over a week gone by and no post. I’ve gotta crack my own whip.

So, writing. Yeah. Been doing a lot of that lately. I’ve noticed that my style changes depending on the first few lines of the chapter I’m in. For example, if I start the chapter with a sarcastic line, I unconsciously write the entire chapter with a sarcastic tinge to it. It wouldn’t be too bad if that was what I was going for, but that isn’t always the case. So I’ve had to go back and re-edit chunks of my chapters to make them more uniform.

Fun.

The above editing has really got me questioning if I even know my own style well enough. It seems like I’m able to pull out all kinds of writing styles at any given time, and I have fun with each one, but a consistent and cogent narrative it does not make. Maybe I’ve been reading too many books from too many different eras. Victorian, Post Modern, Classical, etc. It’s created a quagmire of techniques that I dig into for my writing.

Maybe that’s my writing style, then? A schizophrenic amalgamation of different voices that fight for center stage?

In a slightly unrelated note, I’ve decided that I want to live in a castle someday. Something like Hogwarts would be acceptable.

Yes, that’ll do.

And now back to writing in the castle of my mind.

 

8 comments on “Cramping My Style

  1. I wouldn’t worry too much. I noticed that chapters I wrote were influenced by what I was reading at the time, but the editing and proofreading processes at the end seem to smooth it all out. I’ve compared the process before to being like a river pebble in a stream, and I still visualize it like that – the iterations of editing knock off the rough corners.
    Great that you have been writing that much! Wish I could say the same. :)

  2. Pingback: Inspiration in The Time of Doubt | Mike_Reverb

  3. Hogwarts…. Living In Hogwarts…. Interesting choice… Don’t you fear of possibly- getting lost? Or running into the Bloody Baron? Well… Good Luck with that anyways… Also, hope you’re writing flows in the way you’d like. Good luck! And… when the Hogwarts Estate is for sale… By any chance could you let me know? :D

  4. Experimenting with different styles will help you narrow down what you’re best at. I try different styles based on my mood or inspiration but I don’t put everything I paint in my portfolio- it needs to be focused and consistent. my blog is for experimenting and fiddling with ideas. Your book is your portfolio. keep it focused and play around with different styles somewhere else. keep at it mike.

    • I wish that I could just write this entire novel in a week, just sit here and not get up for anything (kind of like that World of Warcraft episode of South Park . . .).

      Been working on this novel for a couple years now, so I can relate to picking up after a long hiatus.

      Thanks for the words of encouragement though. When we’re published, this will all seem like a funny dream. :P

  5. I never thought of setting the mood with the first line, but I guess that would affect a first POV a lot more than a third. Definitely something to think about when I’m reading. Interesting point.

Leave a Reply

