Writing Rules: 10 Experts Take on the Writer’s Rulebook

Mana from heaven. I had to share this article with all of the aspiring writers out there.

It tackles exactly what I’ve been writing about these past couple of days: should we follow the rules of writing or break them?

It presents a pretty damned even handed approach to the issue: One writer explains why he/she is for a particular rule (Hook your readers on page one, Show don’t tell, etc.) and right under it another author writes why he/she is against it.

It’s a great read if you’re still on the fence of whether or not to follow a creative writing guide. (I’m pretty squarely on the BREAK IT side of the fence myself 🙂 ).

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/writing-rules-10-experts-take-on-the-writers-rulebook

4 comments on “Writing Rules: 10 Experts Take on the Writer’s Rulebook

  1. Even after reading the rules again and hearing the whys I cannot choose. Maybe the fence is the best place to be. You can dip into either side of the gems and pull the one that fits for you at that moment.

    • That’s a great perspective to take, Elven. As long as a rule makes sense to your writing and you realize it’s one of many options, there’s nothing wrong with following it. Or if it doesn’t make sense, abandon it. It boils down to personal preference, really.

      For me, most of those rules limit my creativity, and many of my favorite authors break them on a regular basis.

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. I like it. As I writer, my one rule is to never give up, never abandon hope. Read about any number of great writers, and you’ll see that many (most?) of the books we now call classics were repeatedly rejected by multiple publishers.

Leave a Reply

