Stumbling Upon 29 Ways To Stay Creative

StumbleUpon is my new buddy. I can be a bit ADHD at times, so it’s nice to find a site that caters to my–geez, I’m hungry.

So, I was stumbling upon many different book, gaming, and writing sites when I, well, stumbled upon one in particular.

It was a list of 29 Ways To Stay Creative. I didn’t get to save the link to give proper credit, but the image has Paulzii.Tumblr.com on it, so I’m guessing whoever chose that snazzy name created it..

NOTE: I”m a huge fan of Rules 21 and 25, but y’all already know that. 🙂

Now, Mr. Paulzii certainly compiled a useful (if not somewhat obvious in places) list of ways to stay creative, but I’m sure we can all add to the list.

Please, share with us: how do you stay creative?

Me, I step away from my desk and play a videogame for a few minutes to work out a problem or develop a portion of my novel in the back of my mind.

I also play music (Pink Floyd, Gorillaz, any 80s music) to get my creative juices flowing.

18 comments on “Stumbling Upon 29 Ways To Stay Creative

  1. This was a great Stumble Upon find! I will have to say 25 is also my favorite. I like to go hiking to clear my head, so all my creative ideas are fresh. Thanks for sharing!

    • Ah, hiking! I truly envy you, Mindy. The only place I can hike here in NYC is Uptown. 😦

      But, that sounds like such a wonderful way to flush out what’s in your head and take in new ideas.

      Thanks for sharing!

  2. I like to read to pick up ideas from other places. Keeping my eyes peeled for things going on in my life definitely sparks creativity.

  3. 1, 2, 8, 20 and 21 are my favourites! I drink coffee like I breathe oxygen. My handbag is like a stationery store. I make lists about everything from my favourite films to my life goals. Such a great post!

  4. There have been many instances where I spike my fountain drinks with 5-Hour Energy then play Halo while listening to the likes of Breaking Benjamin and inspiration strikes out of nowhere. Odd sort of process, but when finances and time disallow me to do so I break out my gigantic tub of Lego’s.
    You would be amazed how that gets creative juices going.
    (BTW my OCD makes my eye twitch at every glance.)

    • Woah, a giant tub of legos! I would have never thought of that, primarily because I no longer own a box.

      I might seriously have to invest in one though. I can see how building stuff would light a fire of inspiration in anyone’s mind.

      At least until you try to make a circle; then you just get burned by frustration.

      Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. Definitely an enjoyable read today! I’m a fan of ‘color outside the lines.’ Yes, doodling allows me to relax and create coloring pages for later. The other fun thing to do is get together with other writers/artists/creators for tea or coffee.

    • Get-togethers with like (or unlike) people is a great way to stay creative.

      Ah, doodling. I haven’t doodled in years, but I can imagine how liberating it can be to just stare at a blank page and let your fingers go.

      I just might have to draw something whenever I’m dry on ideas.

      Thanks 🙂

  6. I love StumbleUpon!! Sometimes I frantically click the stumble button…and came to the conclusion that this website is designed to boost ADD levels

    • Right? I feel like I’m part of some sort of experiment, and the Stumbled staff is watching me click that button and saying “yes, yes . . .”

      It’s all Pavlovian. And I’m ok with that. 😛

Leave a Reply

