Versatile Blogger Award

The always supportive and NEVER dull Kasia James– her wonderful blog is kasiajames.wordpress.com—has nominated me for The Versatile Blogger Award. Thanks Kasia!

I’ve only been blogging for about three weeks, so I’m not familiar with blog awards protocols, but Kasia was supportive even in that! She provided the criteria for accepting the award, which I’ll also pass along:

 

1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your post.

2. Share 7 things about yourself.

3. Pass this award along 15 or 20.

4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

 

Number one’s taken care of, so I’ll jump right into number seven.

 

Seven things about myself

1. I used to train in Shaolin Kung Fu and Wing Chun. Plenty of awkward moments happened when I fought women and older men (they could all kick ass, but finding spots to hit was . . . complicated?).

2. I can hum a medley that includes all of John William’s soundtracks from E.T. to Superman to Harry Potter and anything in between.

3. I hate red berries or pretty much anything sweet that’s also the color red (watermelon, cherries, etc.). My older sisters tell me it’s because I ate a red, Hot Tamale candy (Mike & Ikes) when I was a toddler and it screwed me up. To this day I deny it.

4. I once tutored a college student who wrote a paper of legalizing marijuana, and for the entire 45 minutes, I could only say “mara-joo-wanna” in Mr. Mackey’s voice on South Park. Seriously, I had to apologize to the student because I couldn’t stop. Mmmkay?

5. I love dogs, so much so that I have no problem getting on all fours and playing with one even if I’m in a suit or in the middle of Times Square.

6. I always say that Orange is my favorite color when in fact it’s Blue. I’ve no idea why that is.

7. I cried my eyes out after the Cheers finale. I was freakin’ 10 years old. My mom had no idea what was wrong with me, and I couldn’t really explain through the sobs that I was going to miss Sam and the gang.

 

Finally, here are the bloggers who I’d like to nominate for the Versatile Blogger Award. Although fifteen or so choices is very generous, it was still difficult to narrow them down since I enjoy reading so many of your blogs!  In no specific order, they are:

Honesty

CDeminkski’s Blog

Sketches From Memory

Fresh FromMy Desk

Ambidexteri

Isle of Books

jmrart.wordpress.com

Robotic Rhetoric

Make Me

Tommias Tablet

Argate Comics

Bibliophiliacs

If I Die Before I Sleep

Writing Between The Lines

Vanessa Grassi’s Blog

 

Thanks again to Kasia, and everyone should definitely check out the blogs above for great reads, laughs, and inspiration.

I’ll be sending out those awards

 

15 comments on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! Kasia is right – you have a great blog. And thanks for the nomination. Looking forward to checking out the other great blogs on the list!
    Warmly,
    Laura

    • Thanks for your kind words, Laura. You certainly deserve the award, and I can’t wait to see who the bloggers above choose to nominate themselves; I’m always excited to read new blogs. 🙂

  2. Thanks Mike. I think it’s fantastic that after only three weeks of blogging, you’ve made so many friends in the blogging community. You are a great participant, and I enjoy your blog tremendously. Keep up the great work, and thanks for putting me on your list!

    Carol

    • Thank you for your kind words Carol. You certainly deserve a place on the list for your great blog as well, even the post that reminded me of the horrors of literary criticism. 😛

  3. Oh, man, I love martial arts! Especially Wing Chun is amazing *starry eyes* Now I wish you could train me, haha. I practice karate for exercise but not professionally. It’s so much fun 🙂 Thanks for suggesting other great blogs, I’m always on the lookout for new people to follow!

    • You’re very welcome.

      You’re so right: martial arts is a lot of fun. I stopped training when I became a teacher (it was impossible to plan lessons and get to training).

      Man, if I were still any good, I would totally train you! I still go through some of the routines and conditioning I learn, but I know there’s a lot more that I could be learning. Hmm, I’m really tempted to get back into training . . .

      Thanks for stopping by and reading. 🙂

  4. I’ve been blogging for three weeks as well. I applaud your incredible achievements so far, but could you care to indulge in disclosing your secrets?
    Just kidding. Perhaps it has to do with the Shaolin monk in you…

  5. Hi Mike, Thanks for nominating me for the honor award 🙂 I’m new to all this wordPress blogging and I’m not sure what to do or even what is this but great thing you gave me is that liking my artwork. So double thanks to you. I enjoy your blog and amazed me so consistently keeping up. I should follow you to blog more.

    I’m not even good with English (as I’m a native Japanese) so if I say something strange, just laugh at it. and maybe ask me what is that mean or correct them. That would be great 🙂

    Thanks Mike.

    • You are very welcome, Tomi. Your artwork is beautiful, and you deserve to be recognized for it. 🙂

      Don’t worry about your English; my Japanese isn’t great either, haha.

  6. Well done Mike! I do love the image of you crawling around in Times Square in your suit, playing with dogs. 🙂
    I’ll have to check out all the bloggers you’ve nominated too – sure to be an interesting bunch. 🙂

  7. Thanks Mike for mentionning my page, in the next few days I will do the little things I have to do…:) it is a good way to let others peoples knowing about others works! Thanks.

  8. Pingback: The versatile blogger award… | Mon Blog…in english…broken english

Leave a Reply

