The Neverending Book List

My book list was bad when I only bought paperbacks and hardcovers, but now that I can hold a near infinite amount of books in my Kindle?

My name is Michael, and I am a literary glutton.

31 comments on “The Neverending Book List

  1. That picture is a perfect description of my reading problem. I bought a couple of books last week knowing full well I still had a bunch on the shelf I needed to read. It’s a sickness.

    • It certainly is a sickness. I remember going to the local Borders and being in a trance: I just couldn’t help but snatch up a book and buy it then and there.

      It was even worse when I went with a friend or two. Peer pressure . . .

    • Haha! I tell you, our problem reminds me of that show Hoarders. We may not have a dead possum in a dresser somewhere, but we certainly do hoard the written word. 😛

  2. I have the same problem! I have probably 25 books I still need to read on my physical bookshelf, and another 15 on my digital one! It’s a problem. And to make matters worse, I sometimes spend hours at B&N reading other books in those comfy chairs…

    • I do the same at B&N. I tell you, those chairs are like Venus Fly Traps, meant to lure you and devour your time.

      The same with Borders although instead of chairs I just sat on the aisles or by a window overlooking Times Square.

      • There are still Borders?? All the ones around here closed up. Which is probably why I have 25+ books on my to-read section of my bookshelf (yay 75% off, boo closing bookstores)

      • I believe they all closed down. The last time I went was a few months ago, before they went bankrupt.

        Man, do you remember those weekly coupons? They ALWAYS got me into the store. I’d get an email from Borders, and it was like winning the lottery.

        I tell you; they were enablers, with their 50% of coupons. *Grumble*

    • Why do we do it? I find time on the train to work and back, sneaking in time in lunch breaks, and when I get home.

      But, how are we ever supposed to finish them all. It’s madness! 🙂

      • I guess we just like books and the printed word, the possibility to find a few answers to important questions and become a bit wiser than the rest… It’s a never ending journey as most things in life. Madness non the less 🙂

  3. I refuse to buy a Kindle until I read all the books I have at home already, Which means I may never end up purchasing one because my favorite atmosphere is a little used bookstore which plays library a town over – Boasting free coffee and chocolate and offering literary treasures by the pound.

    But good on you Sir for using technology – You have probably saved a few trees already haha.

  4. Who was it who said, “I can resist temptation anywhere but in a bookstore.” I am getting very creative about squeezing made-to-order shelves into places where you wouldn’t think it possible. We can think of it as an investment into our retirement entertainment fund.

    • Haha, I like that view of it, Naomi.

      When you mentioned squeezing shelves into places, it reminded me of why I took to electronic books so easily. I ran out of space!

      If I had infinite shelf space, I may have stuck to my guns for longer.

      But, I will never let the gems I have at the moment go. 😉

  5. I am guilty of the same charge here. I don’t have an e-book reader because I need to see my books lying around to remember to read them. And I’m still way behind… and I’m still buying. *Slowly lowered oneself into a hole to escape from the truth for a while*

  6. You should see my appartment, books everywhere! Plus I go to the library twice a week, truly a sickness. People ask me how I have time for all the books and movies, and I tell them it’s simple, I just don’t sleep.

  7. I confess to having gone ‘cold turkey’ on book buying for…three years now? Wait, there was the splurge for “Gather the Children” by Mari Collier and the biography of Jerry Orbach, but since then, the challenge has been in finding it at the library -or borrowing from someone who has the wanted title.

  8. But but but, the fun and pride in owning the paperbacks and hardcovers book is different. I don’t know, maybe, I feel it different. Reading something in black and white gives another feeling, but when it comes to reading of Kindle or some other thing digital, it just doesn’t appeal to me. Just saying! Perhaps, you’ll agree with it or maybe, you can visit my home where I arranged my books so nicely after reading that it’ll convince you that hardcovers book are awesome to own rather than putting everything in Kindle. 😀

    • Haha, maybe that will tempt me!

      Don’t get me wrong: I have a large collection of paperbacks and hardcover books. My shelves are bursting with them!

      However, I can’t bring them all with me when I travel around, so it’s nice to just have one slim Kindle to put a good portion of my library in.

      And nothing can replace the smell, the texture, the weight of a good book. We can certainly agree on that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

