NaNoWriMo

 

It’s about that time, eh? The thirty days of parole for our usually restrained brains.

National Novel Writing Month!!!

My brain was a bit disheveled, squinting in the sunlight, unsure what he should do with all the freedom. But like a fat kid in a bacon house, my brain’s starting to tear things up.

I’ve been writing quite a bit the past three days, thankfully, and I’m looking forward to interacting with the NaNoWriMo community for inspiration and laughs. The periodic emails from the staff are a great start;  if you haven’t yet, and you’ve got a potential novel burning in your heart, mosey on down to http://www.nanowrimo.org and sign up. Don’t leave for tomorrow what you can do today.

For this month I’ve vowed to abandon my usually perfectionist tendencies, which have kept me tinkering with a single chapter for weeks on occasion. But not this time! Just gotta keep my eyes on the 50,000 word goal.

For those of you who have finished a National Novel Writing Month in the past or are knee deep in one for the first time, what tips can you share for “winning” it by December 1st?

7 comments on “NaNoWriMo

  1. My strategy includes: 1) going to as many write-ins as possible for support 2)moving forward and 3)don’t touch the backspace/delete keys. That and having a motivating soundtrack assembled helps.

  2. Can’t say that I’ve completed it or will, but just keep promises to yourself, and if you break them, make sure you make up for them when you get the chance. But keep your streak as long as you can. Or, better yet, challenge yourself to write more words than the day before.

    • Thanks! I wonder if there’s a kind of NaNoWriMo for artists? Like a month of trying to create a masterpiece or maybe a series of paintings? That’d be great for you!

      By the way, I’ve been loving your drawings/paintings lately. The tribal motif for Cerulean is so cool! 🙂

      • I think there’s too many of those for artists honestly.. every time I turn around people are doing “draw every day for a month” challenges. Which I’m always trying to do just in general, soo…

        Thank you! I’m about to take a break from that for a new project though.. hopefully some downtime will respark my creativity for it. 😛

  3. I picked up on that NaNoWriMo thingy too. I went great guns for a few days. And I’ve been distractedly looking at the word total, sitting there at a static 6,600 but, I haven’t tapped a key in weeks.
    I am going to have to start again.
    Eventually!

Leave a Reply

