A Quick Guide to Surviving Snowstorm Nemo

Well, now, seems like the sky’s decided to barf out snow. This is actually my favorite kind of weather, when everything looks so pristine.

Snowstorm Nemo New York

Nemo chillin’ in Brooklyn.

However, it’s cold out there and will be in the Northeast for a bit longer, so I thought I’d share three tips for surviving Nemo (lame name for a snowstorm too; as threatening as snowstorm Percy).

1)     Tender Vittles

Unlike some folks who did their shopping in preparation for the storm, I went out during Nemo and bought all of the ingredients for garlic shrimp in coconut milk. Hey, if I turn into a Spanish tub of ice cream, I want the medical examiner to find something good frozen in my stomach. 🙂

Full disclosure: this is not what it would look like in my stomach.

Full disclosure: this is not what it would look like in my stomach.

So make sure you’ve got some good food to fill your belly with during the storm.

2)      Heating Brick

Soooo, the powers that be in my apartment building have decided not to give adequate heat (hence my fear of freezing to death, lawl). However, I was lucky enough to find a small heater that looks like it was designed during the Nixon administration.

I am not a crook . . . but I will steal a lot of electricity.

I am not a crook . . . but I will steal a lot of electricity.

Keep warm, my friends.

3)      Mind Lube

During the storm, which is still going on outside, I plan on watching The Walking Dead reruns until Season 3 starts up again tomorrow at 9. Gotta keep my mind occupied!

How would zombies deal with a snowstorm I wonder?

How would zombies deal with a snowstorm I wonder?

Don’t go all The Shining, friends. Guard your minds by keeping them occupied!

So what tips do you have to make the best of a snowstorm?

4 comments on “A Quick Guide to Surviving Snowstorm Nemo

  1. Games! Hold a tournament with cards or board games (Monopoly, Pictionary, Trivial Pursuit). Also, it’s a good time to assemble jigsaw puzzles that you usually don’t have time to do.

    And get some exercise. Go walking if it’s possible or dance. During one major snowstorm in my area, I couldn’t get to the gym. I did sit-ups, push-ups, squats and did weight-bearing exercises (concentration curls, shoulder raises, etc.) with the heaviest object at my place (which turned out to be my toolbox). Hey, it worked and helped to pass some time.

    Stay warm and safe. 🙂

  2. I made the best of it by staying in the Midwest. It’s been reigning hell on you Northeasterners, huh. Garlic shrimp in coconut milk, seriously? WTF, who eats marine life during a blizzard named after the world’s cutest fish? I think that there was something subconscious and evil going on there. And next time, please invite me over when you’re cooking anything garlic- it’s gold to my people.

    • Mamacita, you have a permanent invitation to my vampire torture parties. I love cooking with garlic.

      And when I eat finger seafood like shrimp and scallops, I like to pretend that I’m destroying families. “No, not my son, please!” “Momma, I love you!” Crunch!!

Leave a Reply

